Presidential Quiz

I don’t know about you guys but I’m feeling kinda patriotic today – right down to me bones. Late last night (while baking a ton of red-white-and-blue cupcakes) I put together this little quiz. Between Google and Wikipedia, it shouldn’t be too hard but the first person to send me all the correct answers wins a prize from yours truly. (Don’t do this instead of work though, okay?)

Yay, America!

  1. The U.S. Secret Service was authorized by presidential decree on April 14, 1865. What else happened that day?
  2.  The President of the United States is personally billed for several items while living in the White House. Name one.
  3.  Who is famous for giving the nation’s longest inauguration speech and a month later, dying from it? (Bonus points for knowing how long the speech lasted and why it was fatal.)
  4. Where and when was George Washington sworn in as the first U.S. President?
  5.  Name the first President who was not born a British subject:
  6.  Which President had the first Inaugural ceremony recorded by a motion picture camera?
  7. Name the first instance a woman administered the oath of office to an incoming President. (Special bonus points for naming the judge or the President.) 
  8. Who was the first President to ride to and from his Inauguration in an automobile? (Bonus points for the exact year.)
  9. First televised Inaugural ceremony?
  10.  How was FDR related to Teddy Roosevelt? (Bonus points for naming both relations.)

And now I present to you, my American Cupcake Extravaganza:

Freedom is yummy.

Freedom is yummy.

~ElderHeather

4 Responses

  1. ooh – this is hard. :) I don’t think I know any of the answers off-hand. Sad, huh?

  2. but the cupcakes look delicious!!

  3. I don’t know any answers off-hand, either! Will you please e-mail me one of those cupcakes??

  4. I have nothing intelligent to add here, but mmm… cupcakes

Leave a Reply

