Facebook vs press conference?

I came across this via @TreeHugger (one of the top – and my fav – green blogs out there) on my Facebook status updates and was inspired to post. So Michael Pollan, of Omnivore’s Dilemma fame, is apparently helping publicize a new documentary that he appears in, Food, Inc. I recently caught a live interview with him on KQED (local public radio in SF)’s “It’s Your World” segment, which I tweeted about. But today his publicizing takes a social media twist: he’ll be live chatting on Facebook about food and food politics.

Michael Pollan (via @TakePart)

Michael Pollan (via @TakePart)

It’s getting a TON of buzz on Twitter already. (The TakePart site this is posted on, by the way, is really cool and seemingly has great presence on social media sites).

I think this is a really great idea. We actually came up with a similar idea in a brainstorm for a client project (that was later cut, unfortunately) and I still think it holds water for client work. Instead of flying all your execs out for a (boring) press conference, why not invite attendees to listen to a webcast broadcast via Facebook/Twitter/choose-your-own-platform, and allow attendees to chat/respond via these vehicles?

I think it’s an awesome idea. Have you proposed something similar? How did it go?

Mean time, I will be listening to Pollan’s latest take on the food revolution today at 3pm PDT!

Happy Fourth of July weekend, all!!

4 Responses

  1. Do you chat live on FB? I’ve never used the feature; maybe I’ll test it out. I wonder if others on our team use FB chat. Pros/Cons? We should discuss that on our next call.

  2. I would say Twitter is a better medium for supporting this. There have already been numerous successful events that have leveraged it’s real time capabilities. Get yourself a nice #hashtag to track the chats with and let people chime in. It’s a really great experience for the speakers and the audience

    -Mac

  3. Bri – I have used FB chat maybe once but I always have it turned off.

    Mac – I agree that streaming Twitter conversations using a hashtag are a nice way to have an interactive, real-time discussion. Especially if video is desired, using a service such as Ustream, which allows viewers to login via Twitter and comment while streaming the video. I think we will see more of these kinds of applications or mashups become mainstream.

    • I’m not sure if this fits exactly what you would be trying to do with this, but I also know some people that have used CoverItLive (i think their site is just CoveritLive.com) for real time discussions.

Leave a Reply

